Getting past procrastination; what if I don’t want to?

Thank God we only have 100 years to live; we procastinate so much already, if we had more time, we’d get nothing done.

-Steve Smith.

So, I promised myself that I would write everyday this year. Truth is I have not sat down to write in a few months. I just keep putting it off and off and off. It’s not because I haven’t had time to do so, it’s because I’ve been doing other things. So, I got to thinking- “why haven’t I been writing more?” and immediately, the fear of having absolutely nothing of value to write or say jumps into my mind.

As I was looking for ways to get myself out of the procrastinating population, I found many articles and authors prescribing methods that don’t work( and there are lots of them around), I came across these guys called John Perry and Paul Graham. They argued that procrastination is a very misunderstood concept. Paul Graham said,

The most impressive people I know are all terrible procrastinators. So, could it be that procrastination isn’t always bad?

John Perry argued that there is always an infinite number of things you could be doing. No matter what you work on, you are not working on everything else. And that is procrastination! Does that mean everyone procrastinates? Or does it mean that procrastination comes in various forms?

Now, the issue is this, should I stop procrastinating or should I see procrastination as a good thing an just continue doing it? Who and what draws the line between useful/productive procrastination and procrastination as a bad habit.

This is my dilemma!

2 thoughts on “Getting past procrastination; what if I don’t want to?

  1. Part of my problem with procrastination is when I set unrealistic or overly ambitious goals, and then strive for perfection. I’m learning that finishing is better than starting.

Leave a Reply

